Posted by: Kevin G. Parker, D.C.
Written by: Amy Myers, MD-Primal Docs
Gluten is a protein found in many grains such as wheat, semolina, spelt, kamut, rye and barley.
Gluten (Latin word ‘glue”) is what gives bread its airy and fluffy texture and dough it’s sticky texture. Having gluten intolerance myself, I am hyper-aware of how many different products contain gluten.
Gluten is found in almost everything!
It’s so ubiquitous that our government does not require that it be labeled on packages and it is often hidden under names such as hydrolyzed vegetable protein, modified food starch or vegetable protein.
To help you navigate the world of hidden gluten I have come up with ‘The Troublesome Twenty”, these are ingredients you should avoid in order to ensure you are not eating gluten or wheat by another name.
The Troublesome Twenty
Citric acid (can be fermented from wheat, corn, molasses or beets)
Modified food starch
I encourage you to print out this list and carry it with you in your wallet.
Other related articles: